The State of Georgia has passed two laws that will become effective on 1 July 2010.
The first is Senate Bill 360 which states: “No person shall operator a motor vehicle on any public road or highway of this state while using a wireless telecommunications device to write, send, or read any text based on communication, including but not limited to a text message, instant message, electronic mail, or Internet data.
The second is House Bill 23 which “prohibits the use of wireless telecommunications devices by persons under the age of 18 years with an instruction permit or Class D license while operating a motor vehicle.”
The fine for each offense is $150 and one point on your driver license. I have to say, it's about time. People, especially inexperienced young drivers, cannot focus on driving while texting, talking, etc. Personally, I don't think the state went far enough and should have included talking while driving as well, but what do I know. I do believe it is a step in the right direction. I mean, you can't drive 15 minutes to work without being 'connected'. If nothing else, it could be a great revenue generator for states that are losing tax revenues with ever escalating budgets.
Now if Alabama would get some legislation going, we would be on our to safer, kinder roads.